skip to primary navigationskip to content

The Nanoscience Centre

Cambridge University nanofabrication and characterisation facility

Studying at Cambridge

Advancements in tuberculosis drug research

last modified Sep 14, 2015 09:55 AM

The prestigious Rosetrees Trust Interdisciplinary Prize 2015 has been awarded to Professor Sir Mark Welland and Professor Andres Floto for research on tuberculosis drug treatments.

Professor Welland is Professor of Nanotechnology for the Department of Engineering and will receive the award alongside co-honouree Professor Andres Floto of the Department of Medicine. Together they have developed an innovative approach to improve efficacy, reduce side effects, and prevent the development of drug resistance in the treatment of tuberculosis.

“I am delighted that our work on a novel approach to the treatment of a very challenging and prolific disease has been recognised through the awarding of the 2015 National Rosetrees Foundation Prize for Interdisciplinary Research,” Professor Welland said. “The funding associated with the prize will ensure that our work can be optimally focused on delivering clinically relevant outcomes.”

“We are tremendously excited by the potential of this project to deliver game changing advances in the treatment of mycobacterial infection,” Professor Floto added.

Rosetrees Trust was established in 1987 to fund life-changing medical research and enable medical researchers to conduct cutting-edge research. Their goal is to give researchers the opportunity to experiment with ideas and become future leaders in their field. The organisation is founded on the principle that basic research is a crucial cog in the scientific wheel and can, ultimately, lead to the major discoveries of the generation.

“We believe that the University of Cambridge is a superb environment for interdisciplinary research leading to a direct human impact,” said Sam Howard, Chief Executive at Rosetrees Trust. “Rosetrees is an organisation committed to supporting groundbreaking research and providing the seed corn funding to enable research to progress to a stage where patient trials can be started.”


The Cambridge Team: Prof Floto, Dr Schiebler, Dr Ouberaï, Prof Sir Mark Welland